Blue Lily Lily Blue: Review (No Spoilers)

blue lily lily blue

Released October 21, 2014 by Scholastic. ISBN: 9780545424967.

There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has found trusted friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own, a fourth to their trio. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs. She has found her place.

Yet her mother is still missing, they still are hunting for Glendower, and are being pursed by friends and foes alike. Will Blue and her Raven Boys be able to stay together long enough to reach their future together, or will fate deal them the nastiest hand yet?

Continue reading

The Jewel: Review

Released 9/2/2014 by HarperCollins. ISBN: 9780062235794

Released 9/2/2014 by HarperCollins. ISBN: 9780062235794

The Jewel means wealth. The Jewel means beauty. The Jewel means royalty. But for girls like Violet, the Jewel means servitude. Born and raised in the Marsh, Violet is a Surrogate- one of the select few chosen to have the offspring for those in the Jewel, and in the Jewel, nothing is more important than offspring. Purchased at auction and now referred to by her auction number, Violet learns that the facets of the Jewel hide the bitter truth: the cruelty, backstabbing, and violence that run in its core. Trying to stay alive through the delicate dance of politics as well as a forbidden romance may cost Violet more than she ever imagined.

Continue reading

The Fires of Calderon Release

unnamed

 

The Fires of Calderon is Book One in Lindsay Cummings’s epic Balance Keepers series. These exciting fantasy adventure books are full of magic, mystery, friendship, and humor and are perfect for fans of books like Brandon Mull’s The Candy Shop War or the Unwanteds series by Lisa McMann.

Bestselling author of the Skeleton Creek series Patrick Carman describes The Fires of Calderon as “fast paced and packed with adventure,” and Peter Lerangis, bestselling author of the Seven Wonders series, says, “Wow!”

With themes of friendship, self-discovery, and courage; both boy and girl main characters; fierce creatures to battle; a mystery to solve; and a boarding school that could be described as Hogwarts underground, there’s something for every reader to enjoy in this contemporary—and fantastically imaginative—spin on the classic Journey to the Center of the Earth.

When eleven-year-old Albert Flynn follows a mysterious map deep into the woods, and then under the woods, he discovers he’s a Balance Keeper—someone with special magical skills for keeping harmony in fantastical underground worlds. Together with his teammates Leroy and Birdie, Albert must master his magical talents in time to stop the fires in the Calderon Realm from destroying New York City above.

Balance Keepers will be in stores in Hardcover and online in Ebook formats…wherever books are sold in the US and in Canada, and online in other countries.

Love is the Drug: Review & Signed ARC Giveaway

 

Released on 9/30/2014 by Scholastic. ISBN: 9780545417815.

Released on 9/30/2014 by Scholastic. ISBN: 9780545417815.

 

Emily Bird was raised not to ask questions. She follows instructions and relaxes her hair, dates the perfect boyfriend, attends the uber-class day school, and is on track for a perfect Ivy-League future. Yet at a high class party for DC’s elite, a chance meeting with a shadowy Homeland Security agent and a careless word leads to Bird waking up eight days later in the hospital, with fractured memories of the night.

While Bird was out, the world has gone insane: a deadly virus is sweeping the world, forcing quarantines, curfews, martial law. And everyone is certain that Bird knows something- about the virus, about her parents’ scientific work- about something she shouldn’t know. The only one she can trust is Coffee, the school outsider and drug designer who has always been on the edges of Bird’s life. As Bird and Coffee dig deeper into what really happened that night, they find that what Bird knows may be more than either could have guessed- and could bring down more than their shadowy Homeland Security agent.

Continue reading

New October Books for Teens

new books

 

Yes! October is one of my favorite months! It holds Halloween, the Teen Texas Book Festival and the weather starts to get to a decent temperature in Texas, and best of all, MY NEW BUDGET YEAR STARTS! YES! While school librarians have had their budget (what little there is, I know) for a good month if not longer, all of the libraries I’ve worked for have been public libraries. And as such, our fiscal year “officially” closes on September 30, while in reality our ordering ends in August if not before. But OCTOBER is like the holidays, because it’s a WHOLE NEW BUDGET! And just for me, well, maybe not just for me, publishers are coming out with some wonderful new October books to add to the teen/young adult collection! Take a look!

 

Want to know more?

Continue reading